Skip to content

Oscars 2010 – The Red Carpet Edition

March 28, 2010

Okay, so now that I’m back in full force, I can go back to sitting on my couch and criticizing what others wear to an event that I mainly watch for that very reason! What? I’m allowed to have my opinion…

Since I’m a very positive person (don’t give me that look), I’ll only talk about the successes of the red carpet. None of the failures 🙂

Here’s who stole the show for me:

Meryl Streep in Chris March was timeless, elegant & confident. She looked like a million bucks, and I’m not just saying that because I love everything about her and because she is the definition of poise and elegance. Sigh. So very pretty.

Miley Cyrus in Jenny Packham was a lady. We’ve seen her before in the nude tones and I hope we continue seeing her in them, because this is definitely her colour! She looks absolutely radiant, down to the hair and even her accessories are perfect. A+ Miley!

Sandra Bullock was one of the many that was sporting a Marchesa on Oscar night. This floor length gold masterpiece with a lace bodice looked phenomenal on the Oscar winner. Excellent choice of lip colour! I would say this was her best.

Maggie Gyllenhal was TDF (to die for) in Dries van Noten – side note: BIG high five for wearing van Noten, as we don’t see enough of this fabulous line. Anyhow, this dress was made for Maggie! The blue really brought out her eyes, the print and cut are so very perfect for this season, its crazy! LOVE!

Another beautiful lady in Marchesa was Vera Farmiga. The colour, the ruffles, the ring, the pearls, the lipstick the hair – it was all perfection! This one was a showstopper, and I don’t just mean maybe! George Clooney who??

Jennifer Lopez, who was solo, wore Armani Prive to the event. This sparkling white gown was out of this world. It accentuated all of the right parts of her body and made her look exquisite. Enough said.

Rachel Mcadams was wearing one of the most on-season dresses of the night in Ellie Saab. The flowy floral print and pastel shades were right on trend. This dress was gorgeous to say the least. Personally, I would have put her in something more vibrant, but the dress itself was delightful!

Elizabeth Banks looked stunning in this Versace number. The shape of this dress was so right for her body, it looked like it was made for her. The colour was great – though I would have like to see it paired with a nude pair of Louboutins, but I guess I’ll live 😉

I have to be honest, when I first saw Diane Kruger in this Chanel piece, I had mixed feelings about it. But the more and more I looked at it, the more and more I began to love it. Love the lace and the oh-so Chanel flowers and shade. It’s very elegant and ultra sexy.

Lastly, I wanted to show my favourite black number, since I tend to naturally gravitate towards colours. So in this case, Kristen Stewart is actually wearing a navy blue Monique Lhullier dress, but it’s close enough to black – it totally counts! This dress made me forget about the super awkward Twilight star, and focus only on the beauty in the navy dress. I would have loved to see at least some earrings and a clutch, but baby steps…i get it!

Till the next event…

-M

No comments yet

Leave a comment