Skip to content

Unemployment

March 6, 2010

Whilst on the topic of work (see previous post), my current situation comes to mind. Let me explain a bit. I recently decided that in order to actualize my goals I needed more time. More time than what my extremely exciting, but time-consuming career in advertising currently allows. So what does one do? Quit her job. Ya, seriously. I quit my job! As crazy as that sounds (or maybe it just sounds crazy to me), I respectfully resigned from my current position, giving the agency 6 weeks notice.

For the first 4 weeks I was too busy with my site launch to let that reality sink in. However, this last week has been a bit of a wake up call. In 5 business days, I will be unemployed! Liberating and ridiculously scary all at the same time.

Maybe it’s the fact that I don’t really have a job yet and the “plan” I have is pretty rough at the moment, but I am a bit nervous. I mean on paper, it’s a great plan. Freelance project management during the day, actualizing goals by night. And the reason this is more effective in a contract role is because I don’t need to be as involved emotionally when I’ll only be in a job for a pre-defined amount of time – like 6 months. And I know that my skill set is in demand, so a shortage of work shouldn’t be a concern. But I’ve always needed stability and control in my life. This will be the first time that I can’t completely plan and control the next 6 months of my life.

It’s a big step for me. More to come soon.

-M

2 Comments leave one →
  1. ducky permalink
    March 9, 2010 1:26 PM

    Congrats!! Wish you the best in your future plans… hopefully it successfully makes the transition from paper to reality. Give me a shout and catch up.

  2. salome permalink
    July 20, 2010 6:34 PM

    well it’s july and i’m still waiting for the follow up…
    are you actualizing your goals? and what are they? i’d like to know
    however, i do concur that workin for the man is just a hairline from slavery.
    i want to know what ms. independent is up to…

Leave a Reply

