Skip to content

Hermes Breeding Crocodiles?

June 9, 2009

aotc_hermes

Okay, so here’s some news. Patrick Thomas, the CEO of Hermes – the French luxury goods group – allegedly reported today that the organization has resorted to breeding its own crocodiles on farms in Australia to attempt meeting the high demands for its leather goods – namely handbags. What?? Is that legal? Or more importantly, is it humane?

Hermes is claiming that customers have to wait several years for these bags, which range anywhere between $10,ooo to well over $100,000. And each bag takes three to four crocodiles to make. THREE OR FOUR?? REALLY? I mean, have you seen the Birkin bags, they don’t look like they use THAT much leather, but what do I know.

Well they are making 3,000 bags a year and still coming up short.

Of course I need to give you my two cents. I personally don’t think there is anything wrong with breeding the animals for use in their bags. I mean, if you really think about it, they’re not taking these animals out of the environment. In fact, they are breeding their own so as NOT to effect the environment negatively. And it seems as though the company is striving in spite of the current global economic situation, so why criticize them?

I don’t know, maybe my opinion is clouded by my love for fashion and my even greater appreciation of a successful business, but I just don’t think it’s that big a deal.

-M

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

