Skip to content

Matthew Williamson – Launch

April 26, 2009

We’ve been talking, and blogging, about this for months. Thursday was the big day. The holy grail of fashion on a budget.

The line up at the Toronto Eaton Centre started at 4 am with three friends. Slowly, but surely, others arrived at this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to own a piece of Matthew Williamson for a fraction of the price. By 9:30 staff said they counted about 80 people in line. At 10 am, the doors flew open as herds of women rushed inside.

These usually civilized women turned into aggressive warriors, fighting for what to outsiders would seem like their first born child. No, it wasn’t. It was for fashion.

I know you’re wondering – Yes, I was there. How could i not be? Have you seen the collection? TDF (to die for)! After waiting in line for 1.5 hours, I only managed to pick up a pink belt, a scarf and a pink cardigan upon entering. Shortly, after purchasing those, I realized not everyone was there to buy everything. I stayed close to the change rooms in hopes of picking up more. I managed to score an unbelievable leather jacket and a blue cardigan before another group of woman caught on. More impressively, I was able to barter to get the right sizes.

So I walked away with what I thought was a pretty good bag of goodies – and it olny set me back around $600!!

Will I do this again for phase II on the 14th of May? I haven’t decided yet.

-M

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

